interior shot of the Fox Theater
The 2018 WSU College of Nursing Convocation was held in the Martin Woldson Theater at the Fox on May 3. Photo by Cori Kogan. 

The WSU College of Nursing held its 2018 Convocation ceremony in the historic Martin Woldson Theater at the Fox in Spokane on May 3. 

Both graduate and undergraduate students participated for the first time, with 111 students being hooded or receiving their nursing pins. The pinning ceremony is a 100-year-old tradition handed down from Florence Nightingale.

Following those ceremonies, Dean Joyce Griffin-Sobel announced students from each program as recipients of the Dean’s Awards for Excellence. The recipients were chosen for their extraordinary achievement, persistence, dedication to the nursing profession, and their representation of the Coug Nurse mission of service. They were:

Bachelor of Science in Nursing: Samatha Williams

Dean Griffin-Sobel said, “Samantha has worked tirelessly to put herself through school. Her goal is to be a role model to her daughter. She and her daughter have been a team, both sacrificing to make mom’s dream a reality.”

Doctor of Nursing Practice: Jessica Pearl

Said the Dean, “Jessica has demonstrated extraordinary efforts to complete her program, dealing with significant personal challenges. She plans to work in primary care in frontier Alaska.”

PhD: Patrick Muturi

Said the Dean, “Patrick is a graduate of our BSN, MN and now our PhD program. He is a veteran of the U.S. Army, and competed as a runner in the national cross-country championship, the World Military Games, and the U.S. Olympic Trials.”

Congratulations Coug Nurse graduates!

For a full photo album of Convocation, visit: 

For a full photo album of WSU Spokane Commencement, visit: