Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Category: Awards & Recognition

Deadline Extended to March 31! Spring 2021 Excellence Award Nominations

To accommodate busy schedules and requests, the College of Nursing Awards Committee has decided to extend the deadline to submit nominations for the spring 2021 excellence awards to Wednesday, March 31. Thank you to the many faculty, staff, and students who have already submitted nominations. All award information, nomination forms, and the drop box for submissions are located at:

Questions? Contact Catherine Van Son,

AACN – Call for Nominations for Diversity Equity and Inclusion Group

AACN’s Diversity Equity and Inclusion Group ( is calling for nominations from each member school. The WSU CON is collected self-nominations for faculty interested in being considered as the WSU representative for this group.

If you are interested, please provide a short (350 words max) bio regarding your work and expertise in diversity, equity and inclusion here (  Please submit before December 23, 2020.

Information about the AACN Diversity Equity and Inclusion Group: The goal of the Diversity Equity and Inclusion Group is to serve as a convening body to unite expertise, experience, and guidance for academic nursing in Leading Across Differences. The Diversity … » More …

Fall Student Excellence Awards – Call for Nominations

Faculty: It’s that time of year again! Please take some time to nominate an exceptional student for our Fall 2020 Student Excellence Awards. Students can be nominated by faculty and other students. Award recipients must receive at least one faculty nomination to be eligible.

Awards for Fall 2020 – Nominations due Thursday, November 12, 2020

BSN Clinical Excellence
Outstanding BSN Student
Outstanding RN-BSN Student

View eligibility criteria and download the nomination forms on our nursing website:

Thumbs Up!

Susan and Heidi,
Thank you for all your support in getting our seniors onboarded for their Senior Practicum at Providence Sacred Heart, Holy Family and Deaconess. I greatly appreciate your help! – Stacy

Thumb up

Marian Wilson’s research published in the journal Pain Management Nursing

Marijuana can worsen depression, anxiety and cognition among people who use cannabis to help with their chronic pain, according to a new study. Negative effects increased with the amount of cannabis used, said the study, published recently in the journal Pain Management Nursing.

Lead Investigator Marian Wilson, a registered nurse and an assistant professor at the Washington State University College of Nursing, said the survey of 150 adults indicates concerning patterns that warrant further study. » continue reading

Nursing Students receive 2020 Chancellor’s Excellence Awards

The Chancellor’s Awards are bestowed annually to students, faculty, staff and community partners who advance leadership and engagement at WSU Health Sciences. Recipients of these awards demonstrate exceptional leadership and service to the university and the community and/or support leadership development and engagement of WSU students. » view all award recipients

Dr. Janessa Graves to receive WSU President’s Award

Associate Professor Janessa Graves has been named a recipient of the 2020 WSU President’s Award for Leadership-Faculty and Staff.

The President’s Awards, which have been granted since 1996, recognize top leaders at WSU.

“Recipients of this prestigious award demonstrate exceptional leadership and service to the university and the community as well as to those who support leadership development in WSU students,” according to the university.

The Faculty and Staff category recognizes “Candidates (who) challenge and work with students to support their development into active global citizens, and collaborate with others on campus or in the community to promote engagement.”

Dr. Graves is Director of the Office … » More …

Dr. Bevan Briggs featured in a publication from his alma mater

Dr. Bevan Briggs, interim academic director at the WSU College of Nursing in the Tri-Cities, was featured recently in a publication of Brigham Young University, his undergraduate nursing alma mater.

One notable passage: “Briggs is an inspiration for students, showing that the path after graduation can be different for everyone. His daughter, Sydney Briggs, is finishing her first semester at the BYU College of Nursing and will graduate in 2022.  Briggs laughs, ‘The WSU mascot is the cougars. I like to tell people that I am working as a red coug to pay for my blue cougar.’”

Congratulations Bevan!

To read the full article: » More …

PhD candidate Dan Edwards places second in Three Minute Thesis competition

College of Nursing PhD candidate Dan Edwards placed second in the 2020 Three Minute Thesis competition. His presentation was entitled “Implicit Bias is Public Health.”

Said one judge, “Extraordinarily important work for the future of the equity of the health care system.”

Read more about the competition and Dan’s research here:

Here’s a video of his presentation:

Congratulations Dan!

Coug Nurses in the News

In case you missed it, several Nursing personnel were featured in internal and external communications recently:

Dr. Anne Mason was interviewed via livestream by The Spokesman-Review’s Kip Hill on mental health implications of the COVID-19 pandemic:

Dr. Janessa Graves was interviewed by Rural Health Information Hub for this story on TBI in rural areas:

RNR Refresher Course seeing surge of applications: